They Don’t Joke About Pregnancy Blood Pressure

My wife and I had an appointment with our OB yesterday. 34 1/2 weeks and super excited to hear nothing but amazing news of how great our daughter sounds and how healthy mom is doing. I didn’t consider any option other than that. In typical fashion, with the doctor’s appointment scheduled for 3:15 PM and I not getting off work until 2:45, I was rushing to get there on time. Pulling in, jogging down a few flights of stairs and into the office, they said she had already been taken back. “Through those doors, and the nurse will meet you,” the receptionist told me. I smiled, said thank you, and headed back.

The nurse directed me to the room where my wife was sitting. I walked through the door and said “hey babe,” but I could see concern on her face. “So, my blood pressure’s a little high…” she said. It was somewhere in the ballpark of 150 / 90. Too high. This hasn’t been an issue at all throughout the pregnancy – actually, her blood pressure has improved with being pregnant. Typically she has been running at about 120 / 80. Just about that time, our OB came into the room. She started asking a couple questions, then reached for the blood pressure thingy (super technical term, I know) so she could take her own reading. She didn’t like hers any better than the first one.

They sent us across the street to the hospital to get my wife and baby hooked up to monitors and to do some blood tests. After a couple hours, the blood work came back fine, but our doctor still wasn’t liking my wife’s blood pressure.

So, here’s the plan – bed rest until the baby comes, and coming back into the hospital this Saturday to do another blood panel and check her blood pressure. If it doesn’t come down, we could be looking at a C-Section to get baby out of there. My wife will be 35 weeks pregnant as of Saturday.

My mind and my heart both wouldn’t keep quiet in that moment. “IT’S TOO EARLY” my mind screamed at me. She can’t be ready yet. This wasn’t supposed to happen. Our little angel isn’t supposed to be here yet. She’s going to be so small!

It’s moments like these where I feel God working through my heart, telling me to rest in Him and find comfort in Him. He tells us “Be still, and know that I am God,” (Psalm 46:10) like a father putting his arm around your shoulder to comfort you and guide you. So, I look to Him. This is completely out of my hands, but rests entirely in His. I will trust Him.

 

2 thoughts on “They Don’t Joke About Pregnancy Blood Pressure

  1. newlymama27 says:

    I’m sorry to hear you are going through this. I know it’s scary (same boat as you currently) but everything will be okay. The doctors know what they are doing and at this point everything your little Girl needs is developed. Prayers to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

