Man Camp, and Why it Was Awesome

I had the incredible opportunity this last weekend to attend Man Camp, a retreat for the men of my home church. This thing was stellar. There were epic battles of ping pong as well as 2 straight hours of at least 120 of the 170 men at the camp playing dodge ball in completely epic fashion. There were campfires. There was great food. Most importantly, there was incredible teaching and fellowship with strong, Christian men. 

Man Code #1: A Man Is A Teacher.

Man Code #2: A Man Keeps His Word.

Man Code #3: A Man Acts Fatherly.

Man Code #4: A Man Understands Husbandry.

Man Code #5: A Man Responds to God’s Word.

Man Code #6, A Man Ought Not Go It Alone.

How applicable was this to my life right now? What more do I want than to honor God in everything that I do, and to do so by being the greatest, most loving and respectful husband and father that I can possibly be? Ephesians 6:4 says it best – “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.” It’s that simple. Love them. Do not push them away. Bring them up, as in teach and cultivate and raise them, in the discipline and instruction of the lord. 

This weekend was fulfilling to my soul. It charged my batteries and helped me reflect on the areas of my life that need improving. I’m so grateful to have had this chance to learn and build strong fellowship with me.

Proverbs 27:17, “Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.” 

 

Leave a Reply

