Week 29, and the Nursery is Taking Shape

Sometimes during the course of a pregnancy, it can feel like there isn’t much for the man to do. We did our job, and then it become’s the woman’s burden to grow and nourish your baby while you sit on the sideline, twiddling your thumbs and trying to be active and supportive and helpful to your ever-more uncomfortable partner.

But this, this is something I’ve been so excited to do, because it feels like I get to contribute and really, tangibly do something for my daughter. My wife and I came up with the idea of a woodland creature themed room, and she encouraged me to paint a mural on one of the walls. I’ll be honest, I was definitely a bit nervous before starting the project. If I were to tackle something of this nature for my daughter, I would want it to be perfect. But, my wife is awesome, and she told me she had faith in me. So, I decided to go for it.

Image

 

Would ya look at that? It looks like a tree. And not even a bad tree, but a pretty good one, too. It’s just the start, and there’s plenty of cleaning up to do with it, adding in a couple more branches and some woodland creatures, but so far, I’d say it’s looking pretty dang good. I’ll keep you updated as it continues to improve.

I love being able to do this for my daughter. It’s special to me, being able to give her this. To be able to create something especially for her and do what I can to make her happy and comfortable is something very near and dear to me, and something that I take a great deal of pride in.

I hope my little girl likes it. I hope it makes her happy. I hope someday she sees that, since before she was even born, all I wanted was to do what I could to make her happy.

Leave a Reply

