The Looming Spectre of Kindergarten

I want to share with you all a really well written and beautiful post. Take a couple minutes to read it, and give this guy a follow! I thoroughly enjoy his blog.

adequate dad

Not all that long ago, The Narrator openly and verbally rebelled against the idea of going to school. We would mention pre-school and he would have a conniption. This worried us a little bit, since he had grown up virtually by himself. Sure, there were playgroups, and story time at the library, but most of his days were spent with mommy. We were terrified that he was becoming maladjusted and antisocial. He took the “Don’t talk to strangers” thing so seriously, that added to the list of people he shouldn’t talk to were family and friends as well.

The kid would take 20 minutes to warm up to his own grandparents some times. About the instant we worried that we were in trouble with him- he flicked a switch.

“Mommy, I think I’m ready for school.”

Just like that. Four years old and ready to make his way. This was…

View original post 548 more words

2 thoughts on “The Looming Spectre of Kindergarten

  1. adequatedad says:

    Thank you for the reblog! And keep up the great work here. I really enjoy watching your pre-daddy progress. It is all very reminiscent of what I went through, and probably mirrors the experiences of most of us who have made the trip.

    • jcw0623 says:

      You’re very welcome! Thanks for the kind words on my blog – it’s something that I’m really enjoying doing. We’re getting close to the real fun, when I find out I have absolutely no clue what I’m doing as a father. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

