Why Creating Memories is So Important

My childhood was awesome. Lets just start out by saying that. I have such fond memories of my childhood home, my neighborhood, my friends, vacations, sports, school, family…. all of it. Those memories are like a flip book of my life; those memories make up who I am. My life has been made, filled to the brim, by memories. Had I not been adopted, had my life been different, I wouldn’t be the same person I am today.

I firmly believe that the makeup of an individual is the combination of many things. Firstly, a person is built on what I believe to be their core. The core is composed of a person’s spirit; their innate and God-given personality and skills. We all come into the world with this core. It’s our inner self, our truest self to the very fiber of our being.

With a heart and a core instilled in us inherently from the moment we enter the world, the rest of a person’s makeup is composed of intangibles. We are shaped, molded, and formed by our surroundings. Our memories, our examples, our role models, our experiences, all of these factors play a part in the person we become.

So basically, I feel like having a child entering the world is going to feel a lot like being a castaway, holding one tiny little ember surrounded in tinder in the palms of my hands, doing everything I can to coax and grow that ember into a flame without snuffing it out.  Pretty scary right? But then, right after I’ve scared the crap out of myself, I realize how fantastic this experience is going to be. It’s going to be difficult, and tiring, and at times I’m probably going to want to slap my daughter silly, but there will be no love like the love I will have for her. Instead of panicking over the responsible, I settle down and think how incredible it’s going to be.

Just how this post started with my own memories, I will finish with thoughts of hers. I’ll hold on to how beautiful it will be to see my wife holding her for the first time. I’ll eagerly look forward to her first steps and her first words. I’ll look forward to any and every chance I have to make that little girl smile, and every memory her mom and I can create for her. I was lucky enough to have a great childhood with happy memories, and all I want is the same and more for my little girl.

3 thoughts on “Why Creating Memories is So Important

  1. Jonathan says:

    I totally agree with what you’ve said here about creating memories being important. As fairly new parents, my wife and I have really enjoyed finding things to do with our son, places to visit and things to celebrate or just do as a family. It’s such an exciting time.

    • jcw0623 says:

      Thanks so much for your comment! I’m glad you guys are having such a great time with it. I’m excited to see what memories are created for our family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

