Expecting Dads, Embrace the Registry

To many men, setting up a baby registry, shopping for bottles and diapers and sheets and cribs and bouncers and… you get the idea…. can sound like an option that simply sounds overwhelming and like a pretty big waste of time. My wife and I tackled this project last week, and, I’ll admit, it was really overwhelming at first.

After getting over the initial shock of “oh my god why are there so many different types of bottles,” I managed to calm myself down and embrace this special time with my wife. Guys, this is a BIG DEAL! Going and registering for the items that will be surrounding your little nugget of joy is incredibly special. Instead of staring at the mass wall of bottles and binkies (which seems extensively larger than it should) I focused on what these items mean.

For instance, that swaddling blanket isn’t anything special. But it’s what my daughter will be snuggled up in at night as she sleeps, and what she’ll be wearing when I pick her up to soothe her and kiss her forehead. That stroller (which like the bottles, there are way too many of) is not just an over glorified chair with wheels, but is something that will allow my wife and I to take our daughter places; something that will provide the mobility for my daughter to explore everything around her. It’s where she’ll sit when we go to the park; it’s where she’ll see clouds and trees and birds.

Focusing on the fact that we are not just laboring to chose the right item, but choosing these blankets and lamps and sheets that will play supporting roles in my daughter’s first experiences is absolutely thrilling. So, soon-to-be fathers, learn to embrace this task. Embrace it with an open heart, and imagine the memories that you and your baby making partner are creating for yourselves and the experiences you are creating for your child. It’s an incredibly special time, and it flies by. Hold on to it.

7 thoughts on “Expecting Dads, Embrace the Registry

  1. newlymama27 says:

    I wish my fiance would realize this! He is just not interested at all. Maybe I will send the link for this post to him to give him a hint. And I agree about the strollers. There are too many to choose from!

    • jcw0623 says:

      It really has been an incredible and moving journey. I love all the little things I get to do for my daughter! I love the shopping and the cleaning and the painting that will start in a few weeks. It makes me feel like I’m taking care of her. How’s your pregnancy going? =) Feel free to link my blog to anyone you want!

      • newlymama27 says:

        Mine is not going so well, not sure if you follow me but there have been several major complications that have happened. So lots of tests, strict diets, and no real activity. Lol. But we are trying to keep our spirits up. I feel bad for my fiance because i am essentially useless right now because i am not allowed to lift more than five pounds. I think the shopping for stuff is the best part because right now there isn’t a lot you can do for the baby aside from pick out the things to help the baby. Lol. Or maybe I am just addicted to shopping ;).

      • jcw0623 says:

        I’m sorry, I do follow your blog but I’m not up to date on what’s been happening. I apologize for that. I’m sorry you’ve been dealing with complications – it’s never easy. I hope you guys can stay positive about the experience and that everything goes fine with baby! Shopping for the baby is always a blast, and I’m glad you’re enjoying it. 🙂

      • newlymama27 says:

        It will be good. no matter what the outcome is I have my family and my fiance and we will make it through anything. We have an appt today to see if they can find anything else out. Are you guys doing a traditional pink for the room or are you doing something unique?

Leave a Reply

