Reliability – A Trait to Strive For

Reliable (adj): dependable, able to be trusted to do what is expected or has been promised

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about reliability, and my character in general. I take a look at myself, and I consider myself to be a pretty good man and husband. I’m kind, loving, and supportive most of the time. I’m fairly patient. I’m supportive and pleasant to be around (most of the time), and I try to make others happy. I work hard at work and am aspiring and working hard to progress to provide for my wife and my future daughter, Olivia.

Sometimes I feel like this is all I can really say about myself. I want to be amazing; I want to be the best husband and father possible. So, how do I change? How do I be the man I want to be? How do I be the man my wife and daughter deserve?

“We become what we want to be by consistently being what we want to become each day.” – Richard G. Scott

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit.” – Aristotle

Consistency. Consistency is key. Doing what I say I will do, acting positively every day, fulfilling my responsibilities and following through on things I have set out to accomplish. This is what I must do. This is what will define me. I have resolved to define myself based on my actions, and will not stop refining myself. Ever.

So, who am I? What kind of man am I, and what kind of man do I want to be? I want to be loving, dependable, and selfless. To be what I want to be, I must consistently act in that manor.

“Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.” – R Collier

 

Leave a Reply

