It’s a Girl!!

It’s a girl. It’s a GIRL. I’m having a DAUGHTER.

Yesterday was our momentous 20 week ultrasound, and it was quite possibly one of the greatest experiences of my life. Seeing our little angel, watching her wiggle and move around, seeing every last centimeter of our baby – from her tiny little toes to the tip of her head – was surreal and beautiful and heart warming.

Then it happened – our ultrasound technician asked if we were ready to learn what we were having. We nodded, looked at the monitor, and she started typing “I’M A GIRL!!!!!” on the screen. My heart was in my throat, I beamed with joy and amazement, and leaned over and kissed my amazing wife. I can’t even comprehend the flood of emotions that consumed me. “A girl… a girl!” I thought to myself, thrilled and anxious and amazed, all at once. Images of pony tails, big blue eyes, little girl laughs and screams started racing through my mind, imaging a life that will be here before I know it.

Image

Our sweet girl, Olivia. I’m already in love.

Thinking about bringing this little angel into the world, raising her right, teaching her about life, keeping her safe and protecting her from boys is a daunting thought. Will I be reliable? Will she trust me? Will she come to her mother and I when she’s in trouble? Will she talk to us? Will we raise her with a love of God in her heart?

When it comes down to it though, I know we will simply due the very best that we can every day. We’re going to mess up, and we’re going to learn. But the most important piece of the puzzle with our growing little family, is that we be present, we soak it in, and we love. And love we will. I may not get everything right – heck, I know I won’t – but I do know that I will love that little girl more deeply than I have ever loved anything in my life. She already has me wrapped around her tiny little finger.

And you know, love is a pretty good place to start. We can figure the rest out as we go.

12 thoughts on “It’s a Girl!!

    • jcw0623 says:

      I certainly will! It’s going to be a heck of a journey. If she’s anything like her mother, I will never run out of things to write about. Hahaha.

  1. newlymama27 says:

    Congratulations! I was so hoping my baby was a girl but the moment they said that it was a boy I realized that a girl would be nice but having a boy just made my heart swell. Did you want a girl or were you leaning towards wanting a boy? Either way, good luck!
    Dee

    • jcw0623 says:

      Thank you Dee!! I wasn’t really hoping one way or another, but I really thought it would be a boy for some reason. How old is your boy? I’m absolutely thrilled for this little gem though. She is going to be so incredibly loved – already is.
      -Jon

      • newlymama27 says:

        I am 22 ish weeks along. So he isn’t quite here yet. But I am so excited. I did help raise most of my siblings though who are all girls. They are a lot of fun. But I cannot wait to meet my son and go on this adventure! Good luck with your little girl!

      • jcw0623 says:

        Oh that’s amazing! We’re just shy of 20 weeks! We’ll be bringing little ones into the world around the same time. My birthday is June 23… may share it with your kiddo’s!

    • jcw0623 says:

      I’m so completely and utterly thrilled about it. I cannot wait to meet the little angel! She’s going to have me wrapped so tight around her finger. Haha

Leave a Reply

